select committees

I’ve added today’s list of new Lib Dem members of select committees to create a more comprehensive database of names.

There will be some inevitable omissions as the last few seats are filled. But this should be of interest to Westminster types and beyond.

Striking selections include Rory Stewart, the Afghanistan expert, on foreign affairs and Rachel Reeves, former Bank of England economist, for business.

The Labour MPs are in red, Tories in blue and Lib Dems in orange. Chairs are in brackets.

BUSINESS (chaired by Adrian Bailey) – Luciana Berger, Jack Dromey, Chi Onwurah, Rachel Reeves. Brian Binley, Rebecca Harris, Margot James, Nicky Morgan, Nadhim Zahawi, David Ward

CULTURE, MEDIA AND SPORT (John Whittingdale) – David Cairns, Paul Farrelly, Alan Keen, Jim Sheridan, Tom Watson. Louise Bagshawe, Therese Coffey, Damian Collins, Philip Davies, Adrian Sanders Read more

An orgy of internal elections to select committees reached its climax this afternoon with a stunning outcome for members of the new intake. I haven’t yet had time to go through the Labour results but, on the Conservative side, the class of 2010 dominates the membership of even the most prestigious select committees, such as foreign affairs, treasury and public accounts. Whereas almost all candidates from the 2010 intake won a place for their first choice, many older MPs will be disappointed: several committees – including business, innovation and skills – had attracted over 25 candidates for 4 places. Read more