Corporate governance at its best: award winners announced

US-based membership organisation Women Corporate Directors (WCD) yesterday announced the winners of its 2012 WCD Awards.

Named a “talent bank for businesswomen” by the New York Times earlier this year, WCD has more than 1,350 members who serve on 1,500 boards. Its focus is to spread best practice in corporate governance through an international community of senior women.

Henrietta Holsman Fore, global co-chair of the WCD and its awards committee, said:

“Better corporate governance is being seen around the world as one of the key drivers to help economies stabilise and recover. All stakeholders – from shareholders to regulators to consumers – are demanding greater leadership in public and private enterprises, and WCD wants to recognise the companies and individuals who exemplify the strategic leadership required today.”

 The awards recognise companies and individuals who “exemplify good corporate governance”.

Winners include advertising group Publicis; US chipmaker Intel; DuPont, the US chemicals group; and Desjardins, the Canadian financial services company. Publicis’s supervisory board is chaired by Elisabeth Badinter, while Jane Shaw is the first external director to chair Intel. Ellen Kullman, chairwoman and chief executive of DuPont (and ranked sixth in the FT’s Top 50 women in world business), and Monique Leroux, chair and chief executive of Desjardins are honoured for their “commitment to leadership excellence and corporate citizenship”.

Susan Stautberg, co-founder and co-chair of WCD, underlines diversity research findings that stress the importance of critical mass. She says:

“One is a token, two are a presence and three are a voice.”

If these awards can help move the needle beyond tokenism towards genuine diverse leadership, we should all be grateful.

Look out next week for our interview with Monique Leroux, winner of the awards for leadership and governance of a private company.

This blog is no longer updated but it remains open as an archive.

The 'Women at the Top' blog is part of a series of online and print publications that focuses on women's achievements in business. With up-to-date news and incisive analysis, the blog will provoke discussion on the role of the world's most prominent businesswomen.

For more Women at the Top news, video interviews and other features, visit


About our bloggers

Liz Bolshaw

Liz Bolshaw is a business journalist and editor. She has been a successful book publisher, online editor, magazine editor and publisher.

She was launch editor of the Europe-wide online community Entrepreneur Country, has published magazines for PwC, 3i, dunhill and Bafta, and launched The Sharp Edge, a magazine for and about entrepreneurs, with Duncan Bannatyne. She is a regular contributor to Thomson Reuters’ Venture Capital Journal.

Her last project for the Financial Times was as editor of the paper’s Business Education magazine.

Rebecca Knight

Rebecca Knight is a freelance journalist based in Boston. She writes regularly for the FT on business education, entrepreneurship, and management.

Andrew Hill

Andrew Hill is an associate editor and the management editor of the FT. He was City editor of the FT and editor of the daily Lombard column on British business and finance from September 2006 to December 2010.

He was the FT’s financial editor from June 2005 to September 2006, with overall responsibility for coverage of companies and markets. Before becoming financial editor, he was the FT’s comment & analysis editor, in charge of the paper’s opinion and features pages.

From 1999 to 2003, he was the FT’s New York bureau chief. He joined the FT in 1988 and has also worked as foreign news editor, UK companies reporter and correspondent in Brussels and Milan.

Pino Bethencourt

Pino Bethencourt is a professor and leadership expert at IE Business School in Madrid. She is also an author and executive coach.

Lynda Gratton

Lynda Gratton is professor of management practice at London Business School.

Linda Tarr-Whelan

Linda Tarr-Whelan, former ambassador to the UN commission on the status of women, is a Demos distinguished senior fellow.